Back to the Car

I realize that my last few posts did not have much to do with the actual car. So here is a recap of the project thus far…

Pulled, disassembled, cleaned, reassembled, and installed motor.

Repair/Replaced braking system components.

Repair/Replaced suspension components.

Most of the driver’s side bodywork is completed.

I had already started the motor a few times in the past month or so, but have never had the car move under its own power.

Well, after pushing the car into the driveway and installing the new hubcaps, I got a little gleam in my eye. I started the motor, pushed the clutch in, moved the shifter to 1st and slowly let out the clutch. The car then pulled into the garage and actually stopped when I pressed the brake pedal. With a grin, I put the car in reverse and backed back into the driveway.

My wife then jumped up and moved my daily driver out of the driveway and off we went. The Squareback drives!!!!!

Leave a comment