New Look Wheels

The wheels on my Squareback, as I got it (not sure if completely stock or not), are chrome Mangels  with chrome hubcaps. I have seen several photos of VWs with the same style wheels painted the color of the car and chrome hubcaps. I wanted to do something different. I wanted to do the reverse, chrome wheels and colored hubcaps.

Wanting to refinish my hubcaps, I began cleaning them up and attempting to strip the chrome off. I was able to clean the outside portion of the hubcaps up rather well, however, there was some rust on the inside portion. Considering how inexpensive replacement hubcaps are, I ordered a full set. I then dropped the new hubcaps off at It’s Not Paint powdercoating in Huntsville.

My original plan was to have the hubcaps powdercoated in “Black Chrome”. I later found out that “Black Chrome” is a proprietary color only available from one vendor, which INP does not have. However, they were able to use a process that emulates the color. When I picked up the freshly recolored hubcaps, I noticed that they appear a little more grey that I had expected. However, this more of a grey look actually gives me a reason to incorporate some grey into my interior.

As soon as I got home, I slapped the front wheels on the car, brought it down off of the jack stands and rolled it into the driveway. Here is how they look….

They are actually very shiny and appear darker in person. I actually like how they turned out better than an actual “Black Chrome.”

Leave a comment