Post-Business Trips Update

I my last entry, I mention that I was off to China for a business trip. In addition to that trip, I have had several other trips that prevented me from working on the project much. After going to Beijing and Tainjin China, I went to Los Angeles, San Diego, Las Vegas, Modesto, Sacramento, San Francisco, Portland, Seattle, Spokane, and Boise. Finally, I was able to get back to the car…

I finally got the engine all buttoned up and the exhaust/heater boxes all straightened out…

Now, time to put it back into the car…

After reconnecting the fuel system and then confirming that everyone was wired up correctly (I first reconnected all the wires where they were, but the previous owner must have messed that up), the engine fired right up! I am rather impressed with myself considering that I have zero engine experience and had this motor torn down to just the block and pistons, most of the components soaking in gallons of soapy water, repainted, and reassembled. OK, I admit, all the credit goes to the original engineering of the car. But hey, I am happy! The car runs!

Leave a comment