The Key to a Successful Weekend

I arrive home from work to find a couple packages of parts at the door. When I go to the mailbox, there is also a padded envelope.

When I picked up the car, the previous owner had lost the ignition lock cylinder and keys. During my massive parts order, I had ordered a cheap ignition cylinder. Once I plopped it in and tested it, I moved on to the door locks. I knew that the key would not be able to unlock the doors, but was assuming that I could disassemble the lock and make it work. Worst case scenario would be to remove all of the lock pins to allow any key to turn the cylinder. However, that was not even possible since the key that came with the ignition would not even fit into the door locks. Once again, off to The Samba I went… $32 and 4 days later, I am holding two VW keys cut to match the code for my doors and hatch.

So, my car is not a one=key car like it should be, but for now the $7 ignition is a better bet that an original on modified to my key code for $65. Maybe later down the road, once I know everything else in the car works, I might shell out for the matching ignition key.

Anyway, that is one more item to check off the list, and I also have two more packages of parts to work on this weekend. But, first, the engine needs to be finished…. more zen…. ahh uhmm…. ahh uhmmm

Leave a comment